April 23, 2012

Kefir update :)

Posted in Kefir tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , at 6:27 pm by missingmyangels

For those who asked what kefir is, here is a link to the wiki:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kefir

It tastes a lot like plain yogurt, but it is not as thick.

My wife poured some over her cereal and said it wasn’t bad. I blended some with a banana and drank it – it was actually really good.

Last night, I set some aside for our daughter who hadn’t yet had the opportunity to try it. At first, she wasn’t impressed. She smelled it and informed me that it didn’t smell good. I told her to try it anyway, and I told her what my wife and I did with it.

This morning when I came in, she was sitting at the table with her nose squinched up. I asked what she was doing, and she said she put the kefir in her cereal. I asked if she liked it, and she said she was too scared to try it.

I made her try it, and what do you know… She liked it!

I am growing more in a larger jar so we don’t have to switch out days but can all enjoy it if we’d like. I want to make some cheese soon, too!

Leave a comment